Skip to main content

Board Election Information

School Board Election- May 1, 2021

 The Rains ISD School Board of Trustees are comprised of seven members who are elected to serve a term of 4-year Biennial Terms (odd-years).

The Rains ISD School Board Trustee Election is scheduled for Saturday, May 1, 2020, for the purpose of electing three School Board Trustees to fill P
osition 1, 2, 3 for a term of four (4) years. To be elected, a candidate must receive a plurality of votes, therefore, the candidates receiving the most votes will win the position. 

Applications to file for a Position on the Rains ISD School Board Trustee Election may be obtained at the Rains ISD Administration Office, 1759 W. US Hwy. 69, Emory, Texas 75440, or on the Texas Secretary of State website. Applications must be signed under oath before a Notary and must be received in the Administration Office between 8:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 13, through Friday, February 12, 2021, at 5:00 p.m.  Candidates, are also required to appoint a campaign treasurer and file the form with Pamela Gilliard, Rains ISD Election Administrator prior to collecting or spending any funds on his/her campaign. These and other required forms may also be obtained at the RISD Administration Office or on the Texas Ethics Commission website.

The Rains ISD Administration Office serves as your filing authority and must maintain neutrality in the electoral process. Any questions on reporting procedures, contributions, or expenditures should be addressed to the Texas Ethics Commission at 1-800-325-8506 or 512-463-5800, or online. You may direct questions about election laws to the Secretary of State at 1-800-252-8683 or 512-463-5650, or go online


 Candidate’s Guide to Primary and General Elections

The Texas Election Code designated the Secretary of State as the chief election officer of the State of Texas.  In order to provide information on the electoral process to all Texans, his office has prepared this guide in the expectation that increased information will result in increased participation.  Click here for more information. 


Board Members Eligibility/Qualifications

Board Policy BBA(LEGAL)


Important Dates

The first day to file for a place on the ballot: January 13, 2021

Last day to file for a place on the ballot: February 12, 2021

Early voting begins: Monday, April 19, 2021

Last day of early voting: Tuesday, April 27, 2021

Election Date: May 1, 2021

Polling Location: 1759 W US HWY 69, Emory, Texas 75440




Pamela Gilliard

Executive Assistant to Superintendent/Board

Rains ISD

903.473.2222, ext. 4112





Other Resources:

Prohibition Against Using School District Resources for Political Advertising

Political Advertising What You Need To Know

Appointment of a Campaign Treasurer by a Candidate Instruction Guide

Candidate Officeholder Campaign Finance Report Instruction Guide

Required Identification for Voting in Person

Project V.O.T.E (Voters of Tomorrow through Education)

Americans with Disabilities Act