Board Election Information

The Rains ISD Board of Trustees is comprised of seven members who are elected to serve 4-year terms with elections conducted biennially, as follows:

Place 1, 2, and 3:
2025, 2029, 2033, and in four-year intervals thereafter

Place 4, 5, 6, and 7:
2023, 2027, 2031, and in four-year intervals thereafter


The Rains ISD School Board of Trustee General Election will be held on May 6, 2023. The General Election will be to elect four school board trustees to fill Places 4, 5, 6, and 7 for a term of four(4) years. To be elected, a candidate must receive more votes than any other candidate for the place.

Applications to file for a position on the Rains ISD School Board of Trustee General Election may be obtained at the Rains ISD Administration Office 1759 W. US HWY 69, Emory, TX 75440 or on the Texas Secretary of State Website

Candidate applications must be signed under oath by a Notary. They must be received in the Rains ISD Administration Office between the hours of 8:00 am-4:00 pm, Monday- Friday beginning Wednesday, January 18, 2023, through Friday, February 16, 2023, and Friday, February 17, 2023, 8:00 am-5:00 pm.

Candidate applications may be delivered in person at the Rains ISD Administration Office 1759 W. US HWY 69, Emory, TX 75440. Notarized applications may be sent by email to, or sent by fax at 903-473-3053.

Candidates are required to appoint a campaign treasurer and file the form with the Rains ISD Elections Administrator prior to collecting or spending any funds on his/her campaign. Required forms may be obtained at the Rains ISD Administration Office or on the Texas Ethics Commission Website


According to the Texas Election Code, an individual is eligible to be a candidate for elected or appointed to a Texas School if the individual:

  1. Is a United States citizen;

  2. Is 18 years of age on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable;

  3. Has not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate of jurisdiction to be totally mentally incapacitated or partially mentally incapacitated with the right to vote;

  4. Has not been finally convicted of a felon from which the individual has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities;

  5. Has resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately proceeding the following dates:

    a. for an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate's application for a place on the ballot;

    b. for a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate's name is written in; or

    c. for an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made;

    d. is registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected on the date described at 5 above; and 

    e. satisfies any other eligibility requirements prescribed by law for the office.


First day to file for a place on the ballot: Wednesday, January 18, 2023

Last day to file for a place on the ballot: Friday, February 17, 2023, at 5:00 PM

Last day to file Declarations of Write-In Candidacy: Tuesday, February 21, 2023, at 5:00 PM.

Deadline for applications for Ballots by Mail: April 25, 2023

Applications for Ballots by Mail can be mailed to:

Lisa Kneifl, Rains County Elections Administrator
220 W. Quitman Street, Suite E
Emory, Texas 75440
Phone: 903-473-5009 Fax: 903-473-5086
County Elections Website

Last day to receive the Ballots by Mail in the office of Elections Administrator: May 6, 2023, by 5 pm:

Last day to register to vote or make changes: Thursday, April 6, 2023

Early Voting Dates/Times/Polling Location: (in person)
Monday, April 24, 2023 - Tuesday, May 2, 2023
8:00 AM-5:00 PM
Rains County Courthouse Annex
220 W. Quitman Street, Suite E
Emory, Texas 75440

Election Day/Times/Polling Locations
Saturday, May 6, 2023
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Precinct 101:
Rocky Point Community Center
2134 S State Highway 19
Emory, Texas 75440

Precinct 102:
East Tawakoni Community Center
288 Briggs Blvd.
East Tawakoni, Texas 75472

Precinct 203:
Bright Star Baptist Church
1399 RS County Road 3480
Alba, Texas 75410

Precinct 204:
Rose Community Center
109 Ravine
Emory, Texas 75440

Precinct 305:
Della Blanton Memorial Hall
200 RS County Road 4370
Emory, Texas 75440

Precinct 306:
Emory Volunteer Fire Department
1205 W Lennon Drive
Emory, Texas 75440

 Precinct 407:
Point Community Center
241 S First Street
 Point, Texas 75472

CANDIDATES WHO WILL APPEAR ON THE BALLOT: (Names are in the order in which candidates have filed. This section was last updated at 3:06 pm on 1/26/2023.)

Trustee, Place 4:
Denita Young

Trustee, Place 5:
Brennan L. Potts

Trustee, Place 6:
Heath Sisk

Trustee, Place 7:
Wanda McClanahan

2023 GENERAL ELECTION DOCUMENTS: (Links are active when documents are posted)

2023 Rains ISD School Board Trustee Candidate Application and Packet

2023 Drawing for Place on Ballot Letter to Candidates

Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline Dates for May 6, 2023 Election

Notice for Drawing for a Place on Ballot General Election 2023

Rains ISD -- 1-15 Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Any questions pertaining to elections may be addressed to Pamela Gilliard, Exec. Asst. to the Superintendent, at 903-473-2222, ext. 4112, or by email at